Skip to the content

PayPal pack · read 2026-10-17

PayPal payout pack

The letters, the step plan and the document checklist for a held PayPal payout, built from PayPal's own pages. Free to fill in yourself, or let us do it all. You send everything yourself.

Check your date first

The calculator is free and needs no login.

Open the calculator

Not affiliated with any payment platform named here. Not legal advice. No guarantee of release. Example only.

Which situation is yours?

Payment on hold (risk-based hold on a payment you received)

21 days · the date the payment was received into your PayPal account

Up to 21 days from the date the payment was received. PayPal may release earlier (for example after shipment tracking is uploaded), but only at its sole discretion.

“Risk-based holds generally remain in place for up to 21 days from the date the payment was received into your PayPal account.” Source: www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full (read 2026-10-17)

Hold because a buyer challenged the payment (dispute, claim or chargeback)

180 days · not stated on the page (the hold is described as lasting until the matter is resolved)

The hold can last until the dispute is resolved, but no longer than 180 days. If PayPal decides the payment should not be reversed it lifts the hold; if it should be reversed the funds are removed.

“we’ll hold the payment in your PayPal account until the matter is resolved (but no longer than 180 days)” Source: www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full (read 2026-10-17)

Account limitation (limited account: cannot send or withdraw money)

3 business days · the day the required steps have been completed

After you complete the steps PayPal asks for, the review usually takes 3 business days and PayPal contacts you by email. Total duration depends on the complexity of the case (no maximum stated).

“When the required steps have been completed, the review of the account usually takes 3 business days.” Source: www.paypal.com/us/cshelp/article/how-long-will-it-take-to-lift-my-paypal-account-limitation-help531 (read 2026-10-17)

Limitation on an account you have hardly used since sign-up

No fixed term published

No separate period is stated; the standard review (3 business days after the steps are complete) applies.

“To restore full access to your account, log in and upload your Proof of Identity” Source: www.paypal.com/us/cshelp/article/why-is-my-paypal-account-limited-help534 (read 2026-10-17)

Limitation because seller performance looks high risk

No fixed term published

No fixed period is stated; PayPal says it may limit the account while it does a review.

“In these cases, we may limit your account while we do a review.” Source: www.paypal.com/us/cshelp/article/why-is-my-paypal-account-limited-help534 (read 2026-10-17)

Limitation after suspected unauthorised use of the account

No fixed term published

No fixed period stated.

“We may limit your account to protect you from potential losses and review any fraudulent activity.” Source: www.paypal.com/us/cshelp/article/why-is-my-paypal-account-limited-help534 (read 2026-10-17)

Balance held for up to 180 days (risk of liability or policy violation)

180 days · not stated on the page

PayPal may hold the balance for up to 180 days if reasonably needed to protect against the risk of liability or after a violation of its Acceptable Use Policy. It may last longer under a court order, regulatory requirement or other legal process.

“for up to 180 days if reasonably needed to protect against the risk of liability” Source: www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full (read 2026-10-17)

Reserve on a business account (rolling or minimum reserve)

No fixed term published

PayPal gives 10% held for a 90-day rolling period as an example only. The actual percentage and period are stated in the notice PayPal sends you.

“your reserve could be set at 10% and held for a 90-day rolling period” Source: www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full (read 2026-10-17)

Hold placed at the instruction of a marketplace or third-party app

No fixed term published

No period is stated by PayPal; the marketplace or third party decides.

“you will need to contact the marketplace or third party directly” Source: www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full (read 2026-10-17)

Hold, reserve or limitation caused by a court order or other legal process

No fixed term published

Can remain longer than 180 days. PayPal says it decides in its sole discretion which action is required and has no obligation to contest or appeal a court order.

“the hold, reserve or limitation may remain in place longer than 180 days” Source: www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full (read 2026-10-17)

Payment under review (high-risk transaction, shipping must wait)

No fixed term published

No period is stated. PayPal places a hold, tells the seller to delay shipping, and either completes or cancels the payment.

“PayPal will conduct a review and either complete or cancel the payment.” Source: www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full (read 2026-10-17)

Account inactive for two years or more

No fixed term published

After two or more years without logging in PayPal may close the account and send the funds to your primary address (if identity information is verified) or, if required, to your state of residency.

“If you do not log in to your PayPal account for two or more years, PayPal may close your PayPal account” Source: www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full (read 2026-10-17)

Hold or limitation because tax information is missing

No fixed term published

No period stated.

“you may be subject to account holds or limitations” Source: www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full (read 2026-10-17)

Where to ask

  • Resolution Center (limitations, holds, reserves, disputes)Log in and open the Resolution Center. PayPal's agreement says to visit the Resolution Center or follow the email instructions to request information about a limitation, hold or reserve. Behind login: not opened by us. www.paypal.com/disputes/ Not verified
  • Bell icon on the Dashboard / Notifications CenterClick the bell icon at the top of your Dashboard; inactive-account owners upload their Proof of Identity in the Notifications Center. Behind login: not opened by us. www.paypal.com/us/cshelp/article/how-long-will-it-take-to-lift-my-paypal-account-limitation-help531 Not verified
  • Contact Us page (chat and topic pages)The page opened today lists topics 'Payment on hold or pending', 'Account limitations', 'Disputes' and 'Reserves' and offers chat. Whether a written message to a person is possible from there could not be confirmed without login. www.paypal.com/us/cshelp/contact-us Verified 2026-10-17
  • Phone (888) 221-1161Number printed in the user agreement for lost or stolen login details and unauthorised transfers. PayPal's help says phone support in most cases cannot remove a limitation, so do not use it for that. www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full Verified 2026-10-17
  • Post: PayPal, Attn: Error Resolution Department, P.O. Box 45950, Omaha, NE 68145-0950Address printed in the user agreement for unauthorised transactions and errors on electronic transfers. Not stated as a route for holds or limitations. www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full Verified 2026-10-17
  • Post (formal): PayPal, Inc., Attn: Legal Specialists, Re: Notice of Dispute, P.O. Box 45950, Omaha, NE 68145-0950Formal step: the user agreement says a completed Notice of Dispute form must be sent by certified mail before arbitration or small claims court. This is a legal step; the tool does not advise on it. www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full Verified 2026-10-17
  • California residents: Department of Financial Protection & InnovationThe user agreement says California residents may report complaints to the California DFPI at https://dfpi.ca.gov/file-a-complaint/ (phone 866-275-2677), in addition to reporting to PayPal. www.paypal.com/us/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full Verified 2026-10-17
  • UK: PayPal complaint, then Financial Ombudsman ServiceThe PayPal UK user agreement says to use its Contact Us page to report a complaint (up to 15 business days for payments complaints), then the FOS within 6 months of PayPal's reply. www.paypal.com/uk/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full Verified 2026-10-17
  • Australia: PayPal complaint, then AFCAThe PayPal Australia user agreement lists email [email protected], phone 1800 073 263 and a postal address; it aims to resolve within 30 days, then AFCA. www.paypal.com/au/legalhub/paypal/useragreement-full Verified 2026-10-17

If it is refused

Documents to collect

Check before you send

  • ID documentPlastic card (not a letter), all 4 corners visible, nothing covered, not expired, name/date of birth/issue/expiry/number readable, same name as the PayPal account
  • Address proofDated within the last 12 months and one of the accepted types; not an envelope, invoice, receipt or waybill
  • Name consistencyName on the document equals name on the account; if you changed your name, add a document that shows the change
  • TrackingTracking number is linked to the same transaction ID you quote in your message
  • Contact detailsEmail, mailing address and phone on the account are current so PayPal's notice reaches you

Fill in your letters, free

Pick your situation, fill in the form and copy or download the letter. Everything stays on your device. The highlighted parts are still empty.

You are looking at a preview of the form.Basic & free: nothing you type leaves your device. Want it filled in for you? See Premium below.

Do it yourself for free, or let us do everything

The calculator is free. A pack for PayPal holds the letters and the plan. Basic & free gives you all of it to fill in and send yourself. Premium & we do everything fills it in for you and stays with you for 30 days.

What is in each plan for PayPal
What is includedFree
Basic & free$0You fill in and send
Most completePremium & we do everything$19.95One-time, per payment service. We fill in. You send.
All letter templates for PayPalIncludedIncluded
Step-by-step plan and document checklistIncludedIncluded
Fill-in form on your own device (nothing is uploaded)IncludedIncluded
Everything filled in with your details, by usNot includedIncluded
Document check before you sendNot includedIncluded
Evidence folder and timelineNot includedIncluded
Reminders on the dates that matterNot includedIncluded
30 days of follow-up: send us the platform's reply, get the next letterNot includedIncluded
Start free

Get Premium & we do everything

Pick the situation that fits. You pay on Stripe's secure page; we never see your card.

One payment of $19.95 per payment service. Full refund within 14 days if you have not downloaded the filled letters (terms). You ask us to start now; your right of withdrawal ends when you download the filled-in letters. You send every letter yourself. Not legal advice.

You send every letter yourself. We never write to a platform for you and never ask for your password. Not legal advice. No promise of release: only the platform decides.

Not confirmed

We could not confirm these on the platform's own pages, so we do not state them as fact.

  • Contents of the Resolution Center, the Notifications Center and the dispute evidence screens (behind login; not opened).
  • Whether the Contact Us page lets a person write a free-text message to a human agent in the situations listed (chat is offered; the flow needs login).
  • A fixed maximum duration for an account limitation: PayPal says it depends on the complexity of the case.
  • How PayPal returns funds when PayPal itself closes an account with a balance: no page read states a procedure or period.
  • What business documents PayPal asks for in a limitation (the list is in the Resolution Center).
  • Any PayPal social-media support account: no official page read lists one.
  • Whether the US CFPB handles complaints about PayPal: no PayPal page read names it; the CFPB complaint page (read 2026-10-17) was not checked for a company list, so US-CFPB is not listed as confirmed.
  • Canada: no PayPal Canada page read names an external complaints body (Code of Conduct reference only); CA-FCAC / CA-OBSI not confirmed.
  • Reserve percentages and periods for any individual account (only an example of 10% / 90 days is published).
  • Page versions: pages are the US versions; UK and Australia terms differ and only their complaint sections were read.

Regulators

  • Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS)
  • Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)
  • Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA)
Good to know before a hold happens
  • Keep your email address, mailing address and other contact details current in your PayPal profile; notices of holds and limitations are sent there.
  • Upload shipment tracking information as soon as you ship; PayPal says this can lead to an earlier release of a held payment.
  • PayPal names these signals as high risk: an unusually high number of claims and chargebacks, selling a completely new product type, and rapidly increasing sales volume. Watch these before a campaign or product launch.
  • Answer requests for documents quickly: the agreement says you must cooperate with reasonable requests for financial statements and other documentation in a timely fashion.
  • Provide the tax information PayPal asks for; missing information can lead to holds or limitations.
  • Log in at least once every two years; after two or more years without a login PayPal may close the account.
  • Do not open a new PayPal account to get around a limitation: the agreement lists this as a restricted activity.
  • Fake limitation emails exist: if you do not see the limitation in the Resolution Center, the email may be fake. Do not click its links.